Local Emergency Planning Committee

  • Noon
  • Fourth Tuesday of every month
  • Ponderosa Room                                                                                                                                     George Amos Memorial Building
    412 S. Gillette Ave.
    Gillette, Wyoming 82716
PLEASE NOTE...for the August 26th, 2014 meeting only, due to the parking crunch created by the Gillette Avenue reconstruction project, the LEPC meeting has been moved to:

  • Campbell County Public Health
  • Basement Meeting Room
  • 2301 South 4J Road
  • Gillette, WY  82718

Members of the LEPC represent the various organizations, agencies, departments, facilities, and other groups within the county.
  • Charlie Messenheimer, Chairman - Campbell County Public Health Department
  • Nancy Jennings - Vice Chair - Campbell County Memorial Hospital
  • David King - Secretary/Treasurer - Campbell County Emergency Management Agency
  • Della Amend RN,BC - Campbell County Public Health Department
  • Cindi Shank - American Red Cross
  • Frank Bliss - Public
  • Doug Evans - Wyoming Department of Agriculture, Consumer Health Specialist
  • J.R. Fox - Campbell County Fire Department
  • Glenda Harvey - Salvation Army
  • Bernadette Hinshaw - Owner / Operator
  • Don Huber - SERC Chair / Campbell County Fire Department
  • Mike Ratcliff - Campbell County Fire Department
  • Tom Lubnau - Public
  • Gregg Mentzel - Campbell County Memorial Hospital EMS Director
  • SSgt. Timothy Rycheckey - Wyoming National Guard
  • Diane Monahan - City of Gillette Water Department
  • Brian Murphy - Campbell County Fire Department
  • Noland Peacock - City of Gillette Emergency Management / Police Department
  • Erica Hatzenbihler - Department of Family Services, Child Care Licensing
  • Jay Lundell - Campbell County Airport
  • Todd Chatfield - Campbell County Airport
  • Veronica Taylor - Campbell County Memorial Hospital
  • Rod Warne - Public
Roles & Responsibilities
The role of the LEPC is to form a partnership between state and local governments, responders, industry, and the public as an enhancement for mitigation, preparedness, response, recovery, planning, exercising, and training.

In addition to its formal duties, the LEPC serves as the focal point in the community for information and discussion about emergency planning, training, and exercises. Residents may ask the LEPC questions about hazards and risk management actions.

Tier II Chemical Inventory
According to the Environmental Protection Agency, facilities covered by Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA) requirements must submit an Emergency and Hazardous Chemical Inventory Form to the Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC), the State Emergency Response Commission (SERC), and the local fire department annually.

These forms, known as Tier II reports in the state of Wyoming are kept on file in the Campbell County Emergency Management Agency Office. 

Resources and Links:
Wyoming State Emergency Response Commiission (SERC)

Tier 2 Submit Software downloadable from EPA (Free)

Computer Aided Management Emergency Operations (CAMEO) software donwloadable from EPA (Free):

EPA's "List of Lists"

An alphabetical list of EHS (Extremely Hazardous Substances) and their TPQ's (Threshold Planning Quantities) as identified by EPA

Filing Tier II's in Campbell County

If you are filing a Tier II report for the first time, please note that you are required to report the presence of the chemical in a reportable quantity within 60 days of it's first arrival.  

Both the State of Wyoming and Campbell County LEPC ask all Tier II's be filed in electronic format, utilizing the Tier 2 Submit software available from EPA

You are to file Tier II reports with:
  • The State Emergency Response Commission
  • The LEPC with jurisdiction (Wyoming's LEPC's each match the County boundaries)
  • The Fire Department with Jurisdiction over the facility.  Campbell County has a County-Wide fire department, so it's only one entity.
PLEASE NOTE: Per Campbell County's Request, please make a "Joint" filing for both the Campbell County LEPC and Campbell County Fire Department by submitting your Tier II reports to the LEPC.

Our Fire Department is strongly represented on our LEPC and the filings are shared between them.

  • Email for Tier II reporting with the State of Wyoming is hls-wmd@wyo.gov
  • Email for Tier II reporting with Campbell County's LEPC is dak41@ccgov.net

Following the initial filing, you are required to file Tier II reports by March 1st of each calendar year for the previous 12 month calendar year (January-December).

There are no filing fees charged in Wyoming.

If you have questions, please contact David King at (307) 686-7477