Buckaroo Book Award

Buckaroo Book Award Book Lists

Sponsored by the Wyoming Library Association and the Wyoming State Reading Council, the Buckaroo Book Award will provide the opportunity for Wyoming children in grades Kindergarten through third to select favorite books they have read or have listened to and to honor the authors of these books. Its purpose is to help Wyoming students in grades K-3:
  • Become acquainted with the best contemporary authors.
  • Become aware of the qualities of good books.
  • Accustom younger children to concepts of choice, critical reading, and voting procedures which will help them participate in choosing other book awards.
  • To honor an author whose book has been enjoyed by Wyoming children.
For more information contact the Wyoming Buckaroo Book Award Committee.

2017-2018 Buckaroo Award Winners

1st Runner-up
2nd Runner-up
McDonnell, Patrick - Perfectly Messed-up Story
Gianferrari, Maria - Coyote Moon
Hale, Shannon - Princess in Black

Past Winners and Nominees by

Author or Date

2018-2019 Buckaroo Award Nominees


Barnett, Mac - Wolf, the Duck, and the Mouse
Beaton, Kate - Princess and the Pony
Clanton, Ben - Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea
Daywalt, Drew - Legend of Rock, Paper, Scissors
Hamburg, Jennifer - Monkey and Duck Quack Up
Higgins, Ryan - Be Quiet
Lyuken, Corinna - Book of Mistakes
Olien, Jessica - Blobfish Book
Rockliff, Mara - Anything but Ordinary Addie
Turnbull, Victoria - Pandora